School board holds organizational meeting, Werner re-elected chair

By Clay Schuldt
Special for the Argus

The Caledonia School Board met on Tuesday Jan. 3 for an organizational meeting, which included elected new officers for 2012.

Michelle Werner will continue to serve as the school’s board chairperson while Kelley McGraw will serve as vice-chairperson. Jean Meyer will serve as board clerk.  John Klug will serve as treasurer and Spencer Yohe was elected to the office of Legislative Liaison.  All officers were approved unanimously by the board.

The board set their meeting compensations at $35 per meeting attended and $75 for out of district meetings per day and $37 per half day.  The board members will receive $0.55 per mile to cover gas mileage which is in line with IRS guidelines.

As with the previous years the board chose to hold one school board meeting per month on the third Monday of each month and if necessary hold an additional board meeting of the first Monday of each month.

However it was pointed out that in both January and February the third Monday is a national holiday (Martin Luther King Jr. Day and President’s Day).  By law the board cannot hold meetings on these days.  The board chose to hold the January and February meetings on the Tuesday following the holidays; Tuesday, Jan. 17 and Tuesday, Feb. 21.  Each school board meeting will be held at 7 p.m. in the middle/high school media center.


The board passed a motion allocating which banks would serve as school depositories. Merchant’s Bank will hold the school’s general fund. The Secondary Student Activity Account will be held at Bank of the West.  Investments will be made at the Bank of the West, Merchant’s Bank, Eitzen State Bank, New Albin Savings Bank, Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus, and LaSalle National Bank.

Temporary committees

The board appointed members to the various temporary committees.

Administrative Negotiations Committee will include Scott Longhorn, Jean Meyer, and Michelle Werner.

John Klug was elected to the Ag Advisory Committee with Scott Longhorn as an alternate.

John Klug, Kelley McGraw, and Jean Meyer will serve on the Building and Grounds Committee.

Co-Curricular/Athletic Committee will include John Klug, Michelle Werner and Spencer Yohe

John Klug and Melissa Marschall as alternate will serve as the Community Ed Advisory Council Representative.

Kelley McGraw with Longhorn as alternate were elected to be the Continuing Education Committee Representative.

Melissa Marschall and Michelle Werner were elected to the Curriculum/PSEO/Online Learning Committee.

Jean Meyer and Spencer Yohe will sit on the District Improvement Team.

Michelle Werner will be the Hiawatha Valley Education District Representative.

Michelle Werner will serve on the Houston County Collaborative Governing Board.

Meet and Confer Committee will include Scott Longhorn and Kelley McGraw.

Spencer Yohe will serve on the Minnesota State High School League with John Klug as alternate.

Strategic Planning Committee will include Scott Longhorn, Kelley McGraw, and Michelle Werner.

Support Staff Negotiations Committee will include John Klug, Jean Meyer and Michelle Werner.

Scott Longhorn, Kelley McGraw, and Spencer Yohe will be on the Teacher Negotiations Committee.

Scott Longhorn and Jean Meyer will sit on the Technology Committee.

John Klug and Melissa Marschall were elected to the Transportation Committee.


The board designated school lawyers. Knuston, Flynn Deans, P.A. and Ratwick, Roszak, and Maloney, P.A. Firm will serve as lawyers for student/employee matters.  Tim Murphy was designated attorney for property and other local concerns.

Larson Allen, LLP, was named as the schools auditor.

The board will begin the process of advertising for a Superintendent/Elementary Principal position to begin July 1, 2012.  Until then Marcia Love will serve as the interim Superintendent for the district.