Warrior boys win TRC season title, place third at tournament

Warrior golfer Devin Schiltz, shown in recent action, was the medalist at the Three Rivers Conference Championships last week. Photo by Zach Thomas

By Charlie Warner
Argus Editor

The Caledonia/Spring Grove boys golf team won the regular season Three Rivers Conference title last week when they topped Fillmore Central on their home course in Harmony by three strokes.

“We went to Harmony and shot really well,” coach Jeremy Leis said.  “We had a 162 to FC’s 165.

The Warriors got a pair of 40s from Hunter Rud and David Guth and 41’s from Joey Ehlers and Devin Schiltz for the top four scores. Derek Johnson had a 42 and Sean Conner had a 51.

Peter Rislov of Fillmore was the match medalist at 38.

On Thursday the Warriors  went to The Bridges Golf Country Club in Winona for the annual TRC tournament.

The Warriors tied for third out of 11 teams. Schiltz had the low round of the day, taking TRC Championship medalist honors with an 82. Rud had an 87 and placed 10th, Ehlers shot a 90, Johnson had a 95, Guth had a 103 and Connor had a 114 for the Warriors.

“It was a really difficult day of golf,” Leis said. “The wind and course conditions made it a good challenge for the kids.”

We ended up tied for third behind Fillmore and Wabasha..

TRC Champion results on the par 71 course included:

• Wabasha-Kellogg (340): Fletcher Blashko 84, Bryan Pierce 84, Nic Schmit 85, Michael Flicek 87.

• Fillmore Central (348): Ryan Mayer 83, Trevor Wangen 86, Matt Guttormson 88, Peter Rislove 91.

• Caledonia (354): Devin Schiltz 82, Hunter Rud 87, Joey Ehlers 90, Derek Johnson 95.

• Plainview-Elgin-Millville (354): Hunter Rau 85, Christian Schad 88, Tanner Rinker 90, Corey Hofschulte 91.

• Rushford-Peterson (367): Zach Boehmke 84, Charlie Krambeer 92, Hudson Stensgard 92, Phil O’Shaughnessy 99.

• Dover-Eyota (373): Jon Sorenson 90, Brady Miller 92, Dalton Nelson 93, Ricky Alexander 98.

• Lewiston-Altura (382): Brady Borkowski 90, Thomas Hennessy 94, Graham Sullivan 97, John Prudoehl 101.

• St. Charles (406): Taylor Johnston 90, Brady Fisher 99, Quinn Roessler 108, Austin Hawk 109.

• Kingsland (407): Nick Niemeyer 95, Josh Thompson 96, Spencer Klevan 102, Alek Kohn 114.

• Southland (409): Marcus Johnson 92, Ben Wolterman 99, Brandon Bergene 105, Tyler Westrich 113.

• Chatfield (Inc.): John Hanson 112.

You can contact Charlie Warner at [email protected]