Federal race results for Houston County

An editor’s note: The Nov. 6 General Election drew 89.06 percent voter turnout for Houston County. Below are the local results as compiled by the Houston County auditor.


President and Vice President
Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan             4,951
√ Barack Obama and Joe Biden         5,281
Gary Johnson and Jim Gray             105
James Harris and Maura Deluca             0
Virgil Goode and Jim Clymer             12
Dean Morstad and Josh Franke-Hyland         5
Jill Stein and Cheri Honkala             45
Jill Carlson and George McMahon         16
Peta Lindsay and Yari Osorio             1
Ross C. “Rocky” Anderson and Luis J. Rodriguez     6
Write-in                     24

U.S. Senator
Stephen Williams                 368
Kurt Bills                    3,909
√ Amy Klobuchar                5,174
Tim Davis                    465
Michael Cavlan                    67
Write-in                     6

U.S. Representative District 1
Allen Quist                    4,369
√ Tim Walz                    5,807
Write-in                        10

State Senator District 28
√ Jeremy Miller                    5,869
Jack Krage                    4,241
Write-in                        9

State Representative District 28B
√ Gregory Davids                5,818
Ken Tschumper                    4,210
Write-in                        29

Amendment 1
Shall the Minnesota Constitution be amended to provide that only a union of one man and one woman shall be valid or recognized as a marriage in Minnesota?
√ Yes                        6,066
No                        4,256
** The state voted as a whole to reject Amendment 1

Amendment 2
Shall the Minnesota Constitution be amended to require all voters to present valid photo identification to vote and to require the state to provide free identification to eligible voters, effective July 1, 2013.
Yes                        5,147
√ No                        5,162