Disaster declaration will help counties

Jeremy Miller

State Seantor District 28

Dear friends and neighbors,

Over the last several weeks, Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) teams have toured counties throughout the state that were affected by severe storms, straight line winds and flooding from June 20 through 26, 2013. Last week, President Obama declared a major disaster for 18 counties in the state of Minnesota and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts. The counties named for disaster relief were Benton, Big Stone, Douglas, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Grant, Hennepin, Houston, McLeod, Morrison, Pope, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Traverse and Wilkin.

Preliminary damage assessments by FEMA determined the storms caused nearly $17.8 million in damage to public infrastructure across the state. The disaster declaration is for public assistance, which covers uninsured eligible projects submitted by counties, cities, townships and certain private nonprofit organizations. Communities within the affected counties listed above are now eligible for federal assistance.

FEMA will reimburse 75 percent of approved costs, while 25 percent non-federal share is the responsibility of state and local governments. The disaster declaration includes and federal funding is also available for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. This assistance is for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards. All Minnesota counties are eligible to apply for assistance under this program.

As always, if you have any questions, comments or concerns please do not hesitate to contact my office at 651-296-5649 or [email protected] It is an honor to serve as your State Senator.

Sincerely, Jeremy


State Senator Jeremy Miller represents
District 28.