State approves disaster funding for Houston County

By Howard Lestrud

ECM Political Editor


Following an agreement made by Gov. Mark Dayton and by Democratic and Republican leaders to consider only a disaster relief bill in a special session, the Minnesota Legislature on Sept. 9 approved $4.7 million in disaster relief.

Funding totaling $4.5 million was designated for 18 counties affected by flooding June 20 through 26. The relief is provided by the state as a match for federal funding. Eighteen Minnesota counties will benefit from $18 million in total funding. They include the counties of Benton, Big Stone, Douglas, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Grant, Houston, McLeod, Hennepin, Morrison, Pope, Sibley, Stearns, Stevens, Swift, Traverse and Wilkin.


up arrow